Norah Jones "...Featuring" CD Review

Norah Jones' new album, …Featuring, is a star-studded collection of the Grammy Award winning singer’s musical collaborations from the past decade. The 18 songs on the album include cameos, collaborations and duets with such legends as Ray Charles, Willie Nelson, and Dolly Parton, and with 21st Century icons from OutKast to the Foo Fighters.

The tracks on …Featuring span Norah’s entire career and reveal her astonishing musical versatility, from jazz to country, hip-hop to rock. There is literally something for everyone on this album. It was really fun to hear so many different styles of music and musical artists combining their talents with Norah to create wonderful songs. “A lot of the people on this record are people I've worshiped since I was a kid, and some of them are younger and more my contemporaries,” says Norah. “Even though the musicians are so varied, the vibe of the songs makes sense when we put them all together.”

I've always liked Norah Jones but I was really impressed with her ability to blend with both country singers and rap artists and everything in between. I must say I was a little shocked to hear Norah Jones with Outkast - I still am trying to warm up to that song! I think Norah's voice is so smooth and soulful, that she sounds the best on the more heartfelt, bluesy songs like Blue Bayou featuring M. Ward and Baby It's Cold Outside with Willie Nelson. I absolutely love this rendition of Baby It's Cold Outside with Norah and Willie - it is so cute.

My favorite song on ...Featuring is Virginia Moon which Norah Jones sings with Foo Fighters. It is so smooth, jazzy, and just beautiful. Their voices really blend well and sound perfect together. I also felt that the song Bull Rider featuring Sasha Dobson was a great blend too and sounded awesome. And surprisingly I really enjoyed Creepin' In with Dolly Parton - I don't usually care for country music, but this song was so upbeat and catchy that I couldn't help but like it!

This album is a fun mix of different musical styles and voices, and I think it will appeal to anyone and everyone. …Featuring will be released November 16. Preorder your copy now!

...Featuring Track Listing:
1. Love Me – The Little Willies
2. Virginia Moon – The Foo Fighters featuring Norah Jones
3. Turn Them – Sean Bones featuring Norah Jones
4. Baby It's Cold Outside – Willie Nelson featuring Norah Jones
5. Bull Rider – Norah Jones and Sasha Dobson
6. Ruler Of My Heart – Dirty Dozen Brass Band featuring Norah Jones
7. The Best Part – El Madmo
8. Take Off Your Cool – OutKast featuring Norah Jones
9. Life Is Better – Q-Tip featuring Norah Jones
10. Soon The New Day – Talib Kweli featuring Norah Jones
11. Little Lou, Prophet Jack, Ugly John – Belle & Sebastian featuring Norah Jones
12. Here We Go Again – Ray Charles featuring Norah Jones
13. Loretta – Norah Jones featuring Gillian Welch and David Rawlings
14. Dear John – Ryan Adams featuring Norah Jones
15. Creepin' In – Norah Jones featuring Dolly Parton
16. Court & Spark – Herbie Hancock featuring Norah Jones
17. More Than This – Charlie Hunter featuring Norah Jones
18. Blue Bayou – Norah Jones featuring M. Ward

Disclaimer: I was given this product free of charge for the purpose of this review. I was also entered to win a gift card from the One-to-One Network for posting this review. All opinions are my own experiences with the product. Individual results may vary. No other compensation was given.


I totally agree I love Baby it's cold outside with Willie Nelson. They did a great job!

Popular Posts